"We hold these truths to be self-evident: that all men are created equal."

- United States Declaration of Independence

Legislative Sponsors of MA Rights Bill, 2011-2012

Legislative Sponsors of "Five Fundamental Rights/Fresh Air" bill, 2011-2012

Here is the full list of Legislative Sponsors and Co-Sponsors for the “Five Fundamental Rights/Fresh Air” bill filed this session. The bill (House Docket #1297/Senate Docket #00198) has 23 legislators signed on, a truly impressive number. The Chief Sponsors this year are, once again, Sen. Patricia Jehlen and Rep. Denise Provost, both of Somerville. IF YOU ARE A CONSTITUENT of any of these 23 legislators, please take a few minutes to call or email them and thank them for signing on.

Without your participation, we wouldn’t have so many lawmakers on board. All it takes is one visit or phone call! And I thank EVERY person who took time to make those calls. You made the difference.

This is, however, just the beginning. This bill will NOT pass if we rely on the legislative process only - a lesson I’ve learned after six years of filing. This isn’t because all legislators don’t care, but the misbelief, spread by our opponents, that providing human rights and fresh air is going to be an impossible financial and “risk management” burden for hospitals, even though it it would CUT costs for them. And of course, these rights are THE LAW! Please, stay tuned! Exciting months ahead!


Jonathan Dosick
Coordinator, “Five Fundamental Rights/Fresh Air” effort

Chief House Sponsor:
Rep. Denise Provost (D-Somerville)
27th Middlesex District
Represents: parts of Somerville
(617) 722-2210

Rep. Garrett J. Bradley (D-Hingham)
3rd Plymouth District
Represents: Cohasset, Hingham, Hull and parts of Scituate
(617) 722-2520

Rep. William N. Brownsberger (D-Belmont)
24th Middlesex District
Represents: Belmont, parts of Arlington and Cambridge
(617) 722-2676

Rep. Christine E. Canavan (D-Brockton)
10th Plymouth District
Represents: West Bridgewater, parts of Brockton and Easton
(617) 722-2575

Rep. Paul J. Donato (D-Medford)
35th Middlesex District
Represents: parts of Medford and Malden
(617) 722-2090

Rep. Carolyn C. Dykema (D-Holliston)
8th Middlesex District
Represents: Holliston, Hopkinton, and parts of Medway, Southborough and Westborough
(617) 722-2210

Rep. Gloria L. Fox (D-Boston)
7th Suffolk District
Represents: parts of Boston
(617) 722-2810

Rep. John P. Fresolo (D-Worcester)
16th Worcester District
Represents: parts of Worcester
(617) 722-2240

Rep. Sean Garballey (D-Arlington)
23rd Middlesex District
Represents: most of Arlington, parts of Medford
(617) 722-2400

Rep. Jonathan Hecht (D-Watertown)
9th Middlesex District
Represents: most of Watertown, parts of Cambridge
(617) 722-2140

Rep. Kay Khan (D-Newton)
11th Middlesex District
Represents: parts of Newton
(617) 722-2011

Rep. Steven L. Levy (R-Marlborough)
4th Middlesex District
Represents: Marlborough, Berlin and part of Southborough
(617) 722-2425

Rep. Jason M. Lewis (D-Winchester)
31st Middlesex District
Represents: Winchester, parts of Reading and Stoneham
(617) 722-2060

Rep. Elizabeth A. Malia (D-Boston)
11th Suffolk District
House Chair of Joint Mental Health and Substance Abuse Committee
Represents: parts of Boston
(617) 722-2060

Rep. James J. O'Day (D-West Boylston)
14th Worcester District
Member of Joint Mental Health and Substance Abuse Committee
Represents: West Boylston, parts of Worcester
(617) 722-2220

Rep. Frank I. Smizik (D-Brookline)
15th Norfolk District
Represents: most of Brookline
(617) 722-2676

Rep. Joyce A. Spiliotis (D-Peabody)
12th Essex District
Represents: most of Peabody
(617) 722-2430

Rep. Ellen Story (D-Amherst)
3rd Hampshire District
Represents: Amherst and Granby
(617) 722-2012

Rep. Alice K. Wolf (D-Cambridge)
25th Middlesex District
Represents: parts of Cambridge
(617) 722-2810


Chief Senate Sponsor:

Sen. Patricia D. Jehlen (D-Somerville)
Second Middlesex District
Represents: Medford, Winchester, and parts of Somerville and Woburn
(617) 722-1578

Sen. Sonia Chang-Diaz (D-Boston)
Second Suffolk District
Represents: parts of Boston (including Arbour Hospital)
(617) 722-1673

Sen. James B. Eldridge (D-Acton)
Represents: Middlesex and Worcester District
Member of Joint Mental Health and Substance Abuse Committee
Represents: Acton, Ayer, Boxborough, Hudson, Littleton, Maynard, Marlborough, Shirley, Southborough, Stow, Westborough, and parts of Harvard, Northborough and Sudbury
(617) 722-1120

Sen. Susan C. Fargo (D-Lincoln)
Third Middlesex District
Represents: Bedford, Carlisle, Chelmsford, Concord, Lincoln, Waltham, Weston, and parts of Lexington and Sudbury
(617) 722-1572